# WYALKATCHEM & DISTRICTS BUSHFIRE BRIGADE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at the Wyalkatchem & Districts Club On Tuesday 17 October 2017 @ 6.00pm

## **MINUTES**

- 1. Opening of Meeting Trent Tyler declared the meeting open at 6.20pm
- 2. Record of attendance Trent Tyler, Marcus Reilly, Dale Tyler, Ian McCabe, David Holdsworth, Stephen Gamble, Paul Trenorden, Anthony Ryan, Brad Eaton, Will Nightingale, Craig Harris, Don Eaton, Kim McNee, James Ryan, Sean Stratford, Quentin Davies, Ella McDonald
- 3. Apologies: Ian Jones, Kennedy Pearse, Dennis Reid, Ray Reid
- 4. Business arising from Previous Minutes Nil
- 5. Correspondence Nil
- 6. Confirmation of Minutes

  Moved: Ian McCabe Seconded: Paul Trenorden

  That the minutes from the 2016 Bushfire AGM be accepted as true and correct
- 7. Brigade reports and confirmation of Appointed office bearers (Fire Control Officer, Captain, Lieutenant, Secretary and Members etc)

**Nalkain:** Stephen reported that the Nalkain brigade AGM was well attended with 12 attendees and six apologies. Marcus Reilly was elected as their Fire Control Officer, Brad Martin as their Captain, Luke Stratford as their Lieutenant and Stephen Gamble as their Secretary. Discussion at the AGM centred around a lack of resources between Wyalkatchem and Koorda.

Shire Note 18 October: the Shire of Wyalkatchem will review resource location and discuss at BFAC what can be done locally to address the brigade's concerns.

**Wyalkatchem:** Trent reported that seven people attended the Wyalkatchem brigade AGM. Dale Tyler was elected as their Fire Control Officer, Trent Tyler was elected as Captain, and Sean Stratford was elected as both their Lieutenant and Secretary. Discussion at the meeting centred around firebreaks, the use of water bottles and fire rakes and the use of all the Shire Brigades' units to be spread out amongst the brigades.

**Yorkrakine:** James reported that the Yorkrakine brigade's PPE was all in order, their Fast Attack unit had been fully serviced. They would like a truck at Yorkrakine due to isolation. They had previously spoken to Rachel Nightingale about funding for some firelighters – Ella will speak to James or Dennis and follow this up. Dennis Reid was elected as their Fire Control Officer, James Ryan as their Captain, Ray Reid as their Lieutenant and Georgie Nock as their Secretary.

8. Appointment of CBFCO and the Deputy CBFCO – Trent announced that he and Marcus would step down as CBFECO and DCBFCO and appeal to the floor for nominations.

Paul Trenorden moved to nominate Trent Tyler as CBFCO, David Holdsworth seconded the motion.

David Holdsworth moved to nominate Marcus Reilly as DCBFCO, James Ryan seconded the motion.

Through the chair Ian McCabe thanked Trent and Marcus for stepping up and said that their leadership is very much appreciated.

- **9. Appointment of Fire Control Officers -** Dennis Reid, Ray Reid, James Ryan, Kennedy Pearse, Dale Tyler, Trent Tyler, Ian Jones, Marcus Reilly
- 10. Appointment of Dual Fire Control Officers Kennedy Pearse Dowerin and Cunderdin, Dennis Reid, Ray Reid and James Ryan Tammin, Trayning, Kellerberrin, Dale Tyler, Trent Tyler Trayning and Koorda, Marcus Reilly and Ian Jones Dowerin and Koorda

#### 11. General Business

- **a. Update Contacts Lists:** Ella asked if anyone had a change of contact to report there were no reports.
- b. CBFCO and/or DCBFCO to attend DOAC meetings with Ella: Trent and Marcus both agreed they would like to attend meetings. Ian McCabe suggested that they alternate who goes – so they attend every second meeting.
- **c.** Training requirements: Ella asked if they had any new members of the brigade that would like to do some training, or if anyone needed training.

Trent will organise a day to teach people to use the equipment on the units.

- d. BFAC meetings three/four times a year: Ella suggested a BFAC be established, it was decided that we would attempt to have the meeting coincide with LEMC meetings.
- e. FIRS Reporting: We will trial a system in which an SMS can be sent on the way/directly after a fire to improve reporting accuracy. Details to be confirmed by the Shire.

#### 12. Questions from the floor:

Dale Tyler enquired about the cost of the SMS being sent out from the Shire. Ian McCabe reported that to send out a bulk SMS was around \$30.00. Paul Trenorden enquired about who pays for the SMS. Ian McCabe confirmed that the Shire covers the costs, not the brigade.

David Holdsworth enquired about obtaining vehicles from DFES in the same manner the local sub centre had obtained their new ambulance (they took their old one and swapped it for a newer second hand model). Unfortunately DFES do not offer that sort of deal. David then enquired about cashing in the "Volunteer Fuel Cards" for money to put towards a new truck. The fuel cards have not been re-issued as yet – Ella to follow this up.

Shire Note 18 October: Government announced today that fuel cards will continue until 2021 but the financial management will be reviewed.

Don Eaton enquired into insurance and if people who are not registered volunteers would be covered. Ella McDonald replied that she would check with DFES.

Shire Note 18 October: an advice about insurance will be issued to the brigades, LEMC and as a public notice in the coming weeks.

Quentin Davies thanked Trent and Marcus for their efforts and said that last year was handled very professionally – decisions made in regards to Harvest Bans were spot on. They both showed great leadership and deserved the support from the community.

### **13. Closure** 6.57pm