Council Elections

To see your Council representatives go to Shire Councillors.


Election Results


The 2017 Shire of Wyalkatchem council election has been concluded with the re-election of Crs Owen Garner and Emma Holdsworth and election of councillor-elect Mrs Heather Metcalfe. Congratulations go to each and our thanks on behalf of the community are extended to all councillors who work on behalf of the interest of Wyalkatchem.

There remains one vacancy on the council which has a four year term to 2021. Council will meet next week to consider how to fill this vacancy.

Council will be sworn-in at a Special Meeting at 3pm Monday 23 October with afternoon tea beforehand. If you are interested in attending please contact the Governance Officer by 3pm this Friday 20 October 2017.

Ian McCabe

Chief Executive Officer

Results: Re-election



 Candidate Information


Are you passionate about the Wyalkatchem community, enjoy working with people and have the desire to make a difference?
Want to know more? Come into the Shire Office to learn about what is involved and how to stand for election.

For everything you need to know about Local Government Elections and becoming a Councillor check the Government of Western Australia's Information for Candidates booklet here.


Are you eligible to vote?


To be eligible to vote in Council Elections you must:

a) be on the electoral role as a resident of the Shire of Wyalkatchem   or
b) own a house in Wyalkatchem and have completed a Owners and Occupier's form.

Any enquiries contact the Shire on 08 9681 1166 or at